Oh My “gods”

00006

Why I stopped believing in so many gods and decided to focus on only One?

Here’s why. I grew up believing in so many things. I’ve mastered the world and/or the world mastered me by me taking whatever it puts in my plate. I learned certain knowledge in school, outside school, in the internet, television, papers, through the deceiving and persuasive flowery words of people, I learned everything everywhere and I took to life everything I liked.

There wasn’t anything solid about the things I believed in aside from the fact that it catered to how I wanted things to function in my life, supported my selfish and emotional life decisions, and that I took them all as ego boosters.

Some of the gods I had in my life were the following:

(1) Horoscope – Some time in high school, I’d always wait for the forecast of my zodiac sign to be mentioned on a daily basis in a local morning show. It didn’t end there, in college I was also enticed in reading the zodiac page in magazines and get carried away on what it has to say about my future.

(2) Fortune Telling – Yes, I was exposed to this. I kind of allowed certain words to be planted in my head and my heart which could actually mean a curse for God’s plans for me. It caused me confusion. One man told me that I was going to be a flight attendant and have a lot of boyfriends in the future, even mentioned I’m gonna have a Mexican looking son. And then another fortune teller told me other stuff that don’t match what the 1st one said. It piled up in my head. It confused me and affected my decision making. But I believe God has already released me from all these things, that the chains of imprisonment in those fancy human based thoughts have already been broken. Trust in the Lord alone.

Leviticus 19:26 “You shall not eat any flesh with the blood in it. You shall not interpret omens or tell fortunes.

Deuteronomy 18:10-14 There shall not be found among you anyone who burns his son or his daughter as an offering, anyone who practices divination or tells fortunes or interprets omens, or a sorcerer or a charmer or a medium or a necromancer or one who inquires of the dead, for whoever does these things is an abomination to the Lord. And because of these abominations the Lord your God is driving them out before you. You shall be blameless before the Lord your God, for these nations, which you are about to dispossess, listen to fortune-tellers and to diviners. But as for you, the Lord your God has not allowed you to do this.

(3) Smart people – I can get gullible and easily carried away when I’m faced with an overly smart person who’s very convincing. The thing is not all smart people are biblically smart for knowledge and wisdom are evidently two different matters. Not all knowledge are right, not even all wisdom came from the Lord.

1 John 4:1 Beloved, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, for many false prophets have gone out into the world.

James 3:14-15 But if you have bitter jealousy and selfish ambition in your heart, do not be arrogant and so lie against the truth. This wisdom is not that which comes down from above, but is earthly, natural, demonic. 

(4) Relationship – Idolatry alert, I desire love so much and there is nothing wrong with it. What makes it wrong is the distortion of my desires for it. Relationship was my god, it was my idol.

Relying on these things devalued God and what He’s capable of doing to my life. Bible says don’t be deceived by the things of the world and don’t practice them. God says don’t rely on human efforts but put our trust in Him alone. Now, I only have One God. The legitimate and the Only One, Jesus Christ. Nobody comes to the Father except through Him. And so I won’t trade Him for the world. Baamm! xx

Leave a Reply

