How Does One Become Beautiful

FullSizeRender 4FullSizeRender 3FullSizeRenderAbout a month ago in a judging stint I had for a pageant, I suddenly had a thought in my head I nonchalantly opened up to my pageant mentor. I told him: “It’s so easy to look physically beautiful, it can be done in two hours, but what takes so much effort is to be beautiful inside”. He agreed with me and said, “Yes, because attitude is something no one can conceal, it’ll show no matter how much you try to hide it.”

I find physical and visual beauty as something easily manipulated. I learned and studied it when I entered pageantry. I was educated how to put make up on, dress up, walk gracefully, smile all the time and be the center of attention. I can still recall how God has favored me back in 2013, when a lot of people were rooting for me in a national pageant. Almost every pageant enthusiast I would meet would tell me how powerful my look was during the pageant screening. But I too can recall how calculated, rehearsed and planned my every move was. I knew I was doing a superficial “job” while having deep thoughts on the purpose of all that I’m doing. There was one event in the pageant when I showed up with no make up on, and it was posted on social media, many reacted nicely, and there were also a lot of negative comments.

Perspective, that’s what I saw right there! People will always have their own viewpoint on how beauty should be. There are broad avenues and angles on how it is defined. And most of the time, each person would consider their opinion as the ultimate standard. Which leads me to a realization, if people have their own perspective on beauty, then I can have mine too!

Biblically, it says that beauty shall not be based on outward adornment, it’s not seen in jewelries and clothing. I agree with this. The people I find most attractive aren’t really the ones who put as much make up as I do when I do pageant stuff. Perfect example are my friends and spiritual mentors: Tita Iris Nanez and April Tolentino. I see them becoming more and more beautiful the longer I know them. They’re very simple, they do not wear false eye lashes on but I see such glow in their eyes that brings joy in me. It is surely their unconcealed gentleness and quietness of spirit I find very captivating.

But hey, I also learned that security in inner beauty is not an excuse for us not to physically take care of ourselves. Women may also exert an effort to be attractive and presentable. There’s nothing wrong with looking visually pretty and dressing up because we are tasked to take care of our bodies, for it’s where the Lord’s Spirit resides.

What I am improving most about myself now is the inside beauty. I want to be friendlier, nicer, gentle and pleasant. I want to be sincere at doing all these and I know that the formula begins within. I believe I’m able to do them: (1) Whenever I get to spend enough time praying and seeking the Lord first before I open my mails and social media sites; (2) Whenever I read my Bible, my week has been so peaceful, part of it is cause I was comforted as I meditate on His’ promises in Psalm; (3) Whenever I am able to reach out and pray for someone and (4) When all these are consistently occurring.

The formula to being pretty inside out isn’t as complicated as we think it is. It only becomes complicated when we do not ENDURE -aka- PERSEVERE in being it. Galatians 6:9 says: Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Let us not give up on thriving to be beautiful on the inside, I say thriving because we are being perfected from glory to glory, we are already victorious having Jesus in our lives so we no longer strive, we thrive!!!

Stay pretty!!! ❤ 🙂

Leave a Reply

