An Open Letter to my Baby Sister

Dear V,

Hi. You know I would always claim it, that you actually are my sister from another mother. Even if it was literally a “job” for me to take care of you then, it didn’t feel like it. I owned the title of being your personal assistant & manager — extended to being your mentor, leader, ate, and I didn’t have to get paid for that. 

Remember when we were struggling to book you modeling gigs/shows then? And now you get unlimitted offers, left and right. But that wasn’t really the highlight of our time together. Let me refresh your mind for a bit! It was us being each other’s church buddy. Friday youth service, Sunday services, One-2-One sessions, waiting on the line to get a cab and we didn’t really care even if it was taking forever cause we had so much to talk about and so much to thank Him for. Those were just few the many, and I’ll always cherish them. 

I liked the depth of your desires to find answers to your theological questions, that some I had a hard time answering already lol. I’m sorry for the times you probably needed someone to talk to and I wasn’t there. I was having my own struggles. But please keep in mind that I’ll forever be a big sister to you no matter where He allows you to go. That’s a promise. Let me know when I can call, okay? Let me know when I can go pick you up.

I love you, Vanessa. Jesus loves you above all. Don’t ever forget that. 

Sincerely,

Ria Xx

PS May you always take this verse with you wherever you may be, that whenever life gets confusing, you have a solid foundation to hold on to, and you’ll never be lost. Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is–His good, pleasing and perfect will. Romans 12:2💞


Choosing Christ is worth it. Wait on Him. 

Leave a Reply

