2 Months Married

To my job. Yes, married to my job. Don’t worry, I’m not idolizing this career. That’s one thing I prayed for, that He grants me a job I won’t value above Him in my life. In case it happens, might as well take it away. I don’t want anything anymore, or even anyone to be my priority more than the relationship I have with Jesus. That would be exhausting.

I call it marriage because I believe a Christ-centered marriage doesn’t contradict or overpower God in your life, and it points people to His glory. A Christ-orchestrated-marriage is a glorious thing, it is savored with blessings and favor and peace. It also comes with challenges, with learning what to unlearn, what to get rid off to make the marriage work out, and acquiring certain qualities that will help the marriage flourish. A Christ-centered marriage, I also believe won’t go through divorce/annulment/separation. It is ever persevering and pressing on to work out, to get better.

My first two months at work were perfectly imperfect. I realized I have so much to learn. I’ve been checked 3x by cabin safety managers on my first month and it felt like all my boo-boo’s piled up and it caused me so much frustrations. These are some of the things I learned though: 1) I had to ACCEPT that I have so much to work on, I can’t just cry it out, I gotta work it it out. Exert an effort, do something to help myself get better; because faith without action is dead. In James 2:24 it says that a person is justified by works and not by faith alone. If I want excellence, I must not be complacent, I must work. 2Thessalonians 3:10 says “If anyone isn’t willing to work, he should not eat.” 2) I’m still adjusting, my gosh I’ve only been “married” for two months. I can’t be too “OC-hard” on myself. I should be grateful for the pointers I’m getting, because it gives me all the chances to get better NOW. No discipline seems enjoyable at the time, but painful. Later on, however, it yields the fruit of peace and righteousness to those who have been trained by it. Hebrews 12:11 3) I won’t give up on my marriage. He won’t give me anything I can’t handle. My flesh and my heart fails: but God is the strength of my heart, and my portion for ever. -Psalm 73:26 

In a marriage, counseling is also important. I’m glad and blessed that He orchestrated flight schedules with people to encourage me, give constructive criticisms and teach me matters to help me improve at work. (Divine appointments!) The way of a fool is right in his own eyes, but a wise man listens to advice. Proverbs 12:15 I’m guilty for being a fool at some point, not wanting to accept that there are things that I have to work on with. People won’t notice a mistake and tell you more than twice if it doesn’t exist. I’m convicted. I have to change — for the better. 

Honestly, I’m challenged at my job. There are perks, yes, free travels, sustenance of food and comfortable place to stay in. But I don’t want to focus on the perks, I want to be good. I want to glorify Him with how I perform. I want to change, be transformed for this marriage to work out. Pray with me. 

Let’s pray for each other. May our careers give Him glory. 

Let the favor of the Lord our God be on us; establish for us the work of our hands– establish the work of our hands! Psalm 90:17

The LORD will grant you a blessing on your storehouses and on everything you do; He will bless you in the land the LORD your God is giving you. Deuteronomy 28:8



Leave a Reply

